How many lawns can one man cut a day

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by howardsells2000, Apr 17, 2006.

1. howardsells2000

howardsells2000 LawnSite Senior Member

I don't mean a row of town houses. I'm wondering on average how many lawns can a guy cut a day. I don't have a helper. I cut, trim and edge myself. I'm trying to average one an hour. But it is hard to do. I'm new at this and most of my cuts this season have been the first cut. I know I should get faster once I'm more familiar with the properties. I have about 70 accounts now and I'm lucky to get 10 done in a day. Some of the accounts are every week and some are every two weeks. So I don't have to cut 70 in one week but if I had to and was only averaging one an hour. I would have to cut seven days a week, ten hours a day.

2. The landscaper

The landscaper LawnSite Senior Member

We would probably need some more specifics about lot sizes. Also, what kind of equipment you are using.

Sounds like you may need a helper though with 70 lawns. Thats a pretty full week.

3. nephilim0167

nephilim0167 LawnSite Member

as many as that man pleases :usflag:

4. JohnsonLawn

JohnsonLawn LawnSite Senior Member

If you have that many lawns you better get a part time helper or you will be burnt in no time. I work alone most of the time and can do 10-12 a day if I hustle, but if it rains for a couple days or I get real sick or have an injury I am in big trouble without my backup guy on standby. Plus, the quality of your work will suffer in the long run and you could get a bad reputation, not something you need just starting out. Get a helper, get comp insurance, train him properly and let him take some of your burden and make you some $$$$$$

Good Luck

5. jt5019

jt5019 LawnSite Bronze Member