how many of u aerate

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cturner, Mar 31, 2003.

1. cturner

cturner LawnSite Member

how many of u aerate? i have been offering this service with my clean-up but now i'm not sure, i was going to rent and aerator but when i talk to the guy at the rental place he said it's not a good idea to do it yet cause the ground is real soft and all i will do is tear it up and i've read a post over in the landscaping forum and alot of them guys are against it this is my first year out and if anyone can give me any advice i will be extremely thankful:confused:

2. proline32

proline32 LawnSite Senior Member
    from 98383

Hmm, Interesting.

I've been doing some aerations since mid february, I find since the lawns are wet you get better penetration and coring action. The lawns haven't been that soft for me though so I have not had any problems with rutting. I own my Aerator, I stopped using the rental yard ones because they are always in such poor shape and it never failed that the rental aerator broke down while I was out doing a job. I haven't had that many calls so far for aeration this year and many of the ones I have had tell me the price is too exspensive? That really confused me because I know what the market rate around here is and I'm within that range, It's going to be a funny year.

3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

We aerate, but do not consider it part of spring clean-up for 2 reasons.

1. It is a premium service (over and above normal clean-ups) that usually includes overseeding as well.

2. Aeration is better performed when grass is actively growing (not in the spring when the grass has just started for the most part).

4. Premo Services

Premo Services LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree with everything he says!!
    1. It is a premium service not to be included in spring cleanup, unless it is charged for seperatley.

2. Aeration is best if done in the fall.