1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

how many of you have college degrees?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by JRS Landscaping, May 19, 2008.

1. JRS Landscaping

JRS Landscaping LawnSite Senior Member

Who has college degrees and what are they in? I'm 19 years old looking to go college in the fall to help my business. I was also was wondering is it worth getting a bachelor's degree or is an associates enough? thanks
  2. k911lowe

k911lowe LawnSite Senior Member

i have a degree in behavioral science fom CCNY in 1975.i went in on the GI bill.any type of extended education,college or vocational is good for opening your mind an seeing new possibilities.good luck.
  3. matt spinniken

matt spinniken LawnSite Senior Member

I have a bachelors in Business Management. Honestly, I would only recommond a degree like this if you want to work in the corporate world or for another company. I have learned more from reading quality books on business than from going to school, if you want to grow your own business, work on yourself and learn as much as you can. College is too expensive and time consuming in my opinion.
  4. Mrs. H

Mrs. H LawnSite Senior Member

I have a general Associates in Arts that I can transfer to a 4-year school if/when I want to.

If I could do it again, I would have taken at least one buisness or accounting class. But, then again, since I am a reluctant buisness owner, I'll deal.

I probably won't continue my education because there are some other things I want to accomplish that don't require a 4-year degree. If given a chance and the opportunity to study whatever for any reason, I probably would take that chance. Matt is right. Sometimes you can get more out of working and reading on your own than you can paying big bucks at a university.