1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

how many women here in landscaping

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by lakesregionscapes, Mar 3, 2006.

1. lakesregionscapes

lakesregionscapes LawnSite Member

Not sure where to post this question, but I find myself wondering how many women are members here, running thier own or helping run landscape companies?
    I have seen some of sheshovels' posts: any others?

In our area, there's just a couple of wives pitching in (like myself): the women in business for themselves all seem to be gardeners.... Hubby had run into serious health issues - found the topic of "could I swing it on my own" come up a time or two (not in the foreseable future, thank goodness); just wondering.
  2. PlantSolutions

PlantSolutions LawnSite Member

I am a landscape designer out of NJ. I work with landscapers to install my designs. I started last year and do it on the side from working at a nursery full time. Eventually it will become full time. Wanted the horticultural experience first.
  3. Precision Lawns

Precision Lawns LawnSite Senior Member

Our wives do scheduling, invoicing, all bookkeeping, phone calls, letters, email, research, put together bids, website...pretty much everything except the manual labor. Of course, we get a say in all aspects of the business, and we are always the ones that actually go out and gather information for bids and estimates, but they do all that other stuff that we don't want to...works great for us!
  4. sheshovel

sheshovel LawnSite Fanatic

I believe Kate Butler is one of us.
  5. tiger1

tiger1 LawnSite Member

I do all our mowing and my husband does the bigger stuff like landscape installs, or bobcat work. I love being out on the mowers, I usally have at least 1 -2 helpers during the week.
  6. Kate Butler