How much are we worth?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TTG, Nov 18, 2004.

1. TTG

TTG LawnSite Member
    from MA

My brother and I spent the day doing a fall clean up for an account that we recently picked up in the spring. The customer (husband and wife both doctors waterfront home) simply asked if we could do the fall cleaning we agreed but no price or estimate was needed.
    Pulled up at 8 am with 1ton dually boxed 8ft. high, new 16 hp Lesco truck loader, 8hp push blower, 751 echo BP blower,48" & #36" hydro WB's rakes tarp the whole nine.
    We left there at 4:30 two and a half truck loads later and the job is not done. Leaves were dry- not a breath of wind. the mowers did'nt pick up a single leave, cut flower beds, blow, tarp ,and suck all day.
    I am new to the truck loader and am totally amazed at how many leaves you can put in a dump truck ,we also jump in the box and pack em down.
    With that said, how much would you say we are worth??

2. Smithers

Smithers LawnSite Silver Member

i'd say about $100-$150/man hour...that makes you $1,600-$2400 if you had a 30 min lunch. With all of that equipment, you are worth the money.

3. lawnprosteveo

lawnprosteveo LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa

For my area, $50 to $75 per man hour plus dump fees... I would charge a minimum of $1,000 to $1,300....

4. dvmcmrhp52

dvmcmrhp52 LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Pa.

Not to rain on your parade or anything...........BUT,
    Why would you do that amount of work, and say you are still not done, without giving the customer a price?
    I don't care what the customer says, NEVER do this much work without pricing.
    This must be one large property to take all day with dry leaves.

5. TTG

TTG LawnSite Member
    from MA

WE have many accounts were we do weekly lawn main.,then when fall comes the simply ask: can you take care of the leaves. If you were to see the property dvmcmrhp52 , you would understand why no estamates are needed.