1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How much do you pay subs

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Smitty58, Dec 27, 2003.

1. Smitty58

Smitty58 LawnSite Senior Member

I'm a solo operator ,but looking to expand in 2004. I've been struggling with adding a partner or using a sub when needed. How much is a fair rate to pay a sub? Would a sub be covered under my insurance? Do those of you who use subs pay a finders fee for them getting you work? And if so how much is that finders fee?
  2. glenjr10

glenjr10 LawnSite Member

I do not understand this question.

Are you saying that you will be hiring a sub, and then telling them wath the other company can cahrge. Ex. Smitty's Lawn care hires Joe's Pesticide, and prices the job at $xx.xx and then you tell Joe, that this is the price. I do not see how this would work.

I would not pay a finder's fee, I would just make a commitment to them to give them business also. I would give some reward to a customer though, but never a sub.

I would never tell a cstomer a price on a job, if you are going to have someone else perform the work, unless you are able to eat the difference in price.
  3. Smitty58

glenjr10- I'm struggling with how to bring a helper into the biz. I've posted it a couple of different ways to get some advice. My question here is about paying someone to help me. I'm not farmng the work out and dictating the price ,I just want to know if you use a sub to help you do your jobs (mow, mulch ,whatever) how much do you pay. I don't want to hire a employee since I only do this part time. So for example if I have a sub help me with a route of say 10 yards and it pays $30 per yard ($300 total) ,how much would I pay him. I'm thimking a flat 30% but I don't know if thats good or bad.
  4. glenjr10

glenjr10 LawnSite Member