1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How much to charge

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by okie2, Jan 9, 2008.

1. okie2

okie2 LawnSite Member

I am a teacher and I talked to the superintendant about me mowing the grass this summer. He actually seemed interested. This is my first year and I am doing it part time. Its 30-35 acres mowing only. I have a 60" JD 757. Will I ever be able to do this and stay caught up? How much should I charge per acre?
  2. hackitdown

hackitdown LawnSite Silver Member

This question is very tough to answer. Is it a single giant 35 acre field with no obstacles? Is it 35 1 acre patches in different areas with walks, buildings, beds, trees, ponds, hills, children, and other stuff?
  3. okie2

okie2 LawnSite Member

Its flat land. Very few trees. Mostly wide open. I am meeting with him tomorrow. What do you think?
  4. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

It could be done. That'll take probably 2 long days by yourself. I'm talking daylight to daybreak w/ that mower.
  5. okie2

okie2 LawnSite Member

So how much would you charge per acre?
  6. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

Something is missing here. Who is doing the mowing in the Spring and Fall. He wants you for the Summer, but that is only part of the year. Why would another contractor take the job for the early part of the season, and then be asked to return to take the last part of the season? Or, doesn't the grass grow much between June 1 and September 1? If that is the case, then it wouldn't be much work for you either, only cutting a couple of times.
  7. okie2

okie2 LawnSite Member

I am a teacher at this school. The maintenance people mow it now.
  8. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Yeah, THAT ought to go over well with the union!
  9. hackitdown