How much wind is too much?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by TurfRyder, Jun 10, 2008.

1. TurfRyder

TurfRyder LawnSite Member

Hello all!

Newbie here. I just started operating a Z-Spray Intermediate this spring. A few weeks ago I got into it with my boss about working in windy conditions. My feelings were if winds exceed 15 mph with gusts in the 20 range its time to call it a day. I was sick of getting sprayed in the face during turns, etc.

My question is how much wind do you guys think is too much for spraying and spreading granular? Its the spray that concerns me the most.

2. whenever my hat blows off its time.

3. tlg

tlg LawnSite Senior Member

Here in Michigan an applicator is responsible for drift control. If you are out spraying in gusty winds and your equipment can't handle it you would be in violation. From the sound of things your conditions were not favorable as you were getting spray drift in your face. The location you were at can also be a factor. 15 to 20 mph winds in an open area may be a problem, while an area with lots of trees or buildings may not. As a pesticide applicator the judgement call is up to you. If it can't be done it can't be done.

4. grassguy_

grassguy_ LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

Here in Ohio, you are not to be spraying above the 10 mph threshold wind speed. Good luck getting anything done as i know most aren't able to assure they aren't spraying above that. I know with the Venturi type system that is on the Perma-green system that spraying has been demonstrated at wind speeds of 20 mph with minimal drift with the small droplet air-induction set up. I have my guys only hand can when winds are higher than favorable spraying conditions.

5. TurfRyder