1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How should I approach this guys?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Hardwareman, Mar 2, 2007.

1. Hardwareman

Hardwareman LawnSite Member

My wife and I are thinking of starting a lawn business. Just residential for now because over where we live that's pretty much all there is, and a whole lot of it to boot.

I don't really know what mower or edger to start with and could really use someone with more experience to point me in the right direction.

I currently work in construction and have for the last 10 or so years and have worked up to an annual income between $60,000-$70,000. However, there is a horrible recession now in homebuilding that I have'nt seen in all my years in the trade so I'm looking for something else to do to take care of my family with.

My goal is to start small and do an excellent job. Use an edger to edge,etc. the right tool for the job basically. After a while I'm sure I'll know what to do and what not to do. I've observed landscapers on all my jobsites over the years and know this is something I can do, but I want to be successful at it so I need to start small first.

I appreciate any and all help given. Thank you.

2. Mow2nd-2

Mow2nd-2 LawnSite Member