1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How should it be done?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by thenewone, Dec 20, 2005.

1. thenewone

thenewone LawnSite Member

Hi, im a new member to Lawnsite.com. I am 17 yrs old and i did landscaping as a side job over the summer. I had 6 yards to maintain. They ranged from half an acre to 2 acres. I am a one man operator who uses a 1998 John Deere HD45 walkbehind mower. It has a 48" deck. i also have an echo string trimmer and a craftsman blower (more like crapsman). I know my equipment and i know im not using the best. Landscaping for my self treated me so well last summer i want to do it again. Although, this time i want to make it my full time job. I read in the book How to earn at least sixty dollers per hour mowing grass... and still be the low bidder that you should start passing out fliers around the end of Febuary and keep on doing it till you are booked. Do you think that is a good idea or will people get agitated? Also, i was talking to one of my customers and he suggested putting quotes on fliers so people didn't need to call for them and that all they need to do is schedule me to start. I am marketing to a development where house prices range from $350,000- $1,100,000. There is also a ton of other developments i can and will market to that are cheeper, but i want to focus my attention on that one development. Along with getting more yards to do, next year i want to buy a Walker mower. They have the versitility i need as a solo entepreneur. With the walker i hope to get my stihl or redmax bower and edger. Please i am open to suggestions and comments. Tell me if somethings stupid or if you have any better marketing ideas. All comments are appreciated.
  2. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member