how tall to cut grass??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Scenery Lawn Care, Apr 19, 2008.

1. Scenery Lawn Care

Scenery Lawn Care LawnSite Member

im new to the bussiness and my quick 36 got here last thur, i got it all togather and ofcourse it has not stopped raining so i can test it out. but i have been looking over it and noticed the blade now is set up at 3 1/8 inch. Does anyone think that is to high? should i go down to 2.5 or 2? and then during the drought season should i go back up to 3 inches? thanks for any input

2. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic

What kind of grass are you cutting?

3. doubleedge

doubleedge LawnSite Senior Member
    from ND

Im almost positive they do that to prevent the deck from hitting during transport :). They do not necessarily intend you to mow that high. Right after winter, I usually mow at or under 2". When it starts to grow, I up it to around 2.5".

4. Paulup

Paulup LawnSite Senior Member

Different grasses should be cut at different heights. Do a little research on them.

5. Big C

Big C LawnSite Bronze Member

I mainly cut St. Aug and i have it set at 3" now

6. 44DCNF

44DCNF LawnSite Bronze Member

Conditions being ideal, the root growth is proportionate to the top growth. Mowing higher well before the summer heat will better enable it to endure a stressful period by allowing establishment of deeper root systems. Mow according to the grass types requirements. I cut at 3 1/4" or higher most all year on our cool season turfs. A little shorter looks better in early spring because of the time variance in different grass varieties kicking into gear. Lawns look lumpy for a couple weeks in the spring if they have a mix of grasses waking up, so 2 1/2" gives a more manicured look then. Fall clean ups go down to 2 1/2 also. That's just how I do it. Not saying it is the only or best way.

7. brucec32

brucec32 LawnSite Platinum Member