how to flatten the uneven ground?

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by diyrick, Feb 26, 2006.

1. diyrick

diyrick LawnSite Member

I hope this is the right place for me to post this questions.

I am a beginner on landscaping subject and welcome any advice or suggestions from anyone with more experience.

My first project (Fence installation) I'd just competed as you can see in the enclosed pictures. Still have a lot of backyard projects need attending to and am planning to DIY (Do It Myself) if I can.

Next project is building a cobblestone-style pathway from the garage driveway to the backyard by using QUIKRETE WALK MAKER mold. Hopefully 20 bag of 80Lbs concrete is good enough to cover up that area.

My backyard ground is not level. I want to flatten the uneven ground before deciding what to do later. Currently,there's a lot of raised bumps and dips and I'm wondering if anyone can provide me with simple instructions on how to level out the soil? Should I wet the soil first by using a rake , spade or shovel? What other necessary tools should I get?

Regarding the uneven backyard as you can see more clearly in the pictures, I am thinking of renting a roto tiller from Home Depot to level out the soil.

I would like to hear more of your suggestions. Thanks again for all your help.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

1.jpg

5.jpg

4.jpg

2. down size

down size LawnSite Member
    from indiana

If it would have been me i would have did the yard first before the fence. Looks like you need some dirt. A tiller will be good! but its going to beat you up that ground is probably going to be real hard (Good luck!)

3. diyrick

diyrick LawnSite Member

Currently, the entire yard soil is few inchs higher than the concrete deck platform if you look at second picture . Which mean I need to move a lot of soil in order to keep the ground level.