1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

How To Get More Business

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by LakeSide Lawn and Landscape, Aug 12, 2002.

1. LakeSide Lawn and Landscape

LakeSide Lawn and Landscape LawnSite Senior Member

HELLO GANG, I WAS WONDERING THE BEST WAY YOU HAVE FOUND TO GET NEW BUSINESS?THIS IS MY FIRST YEAR IN THE LAWN MAINTENCE FIELD,I KNOW THE SEASON IS ALMOST UP BUT ANY SUGESTIONS FOR NEXT YEAR WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!! THANKS FOR ANY HELP YOU MAY OFFER. M&M LAWN SERVICE :dizzy:

2. Sean Adams

Sean Adams LawnSite Gold Member

Jacob....welcome to the industry. Lots of fun, lots of hard work, lots of reward. I know that if you do a search you will have enough reading material for a year.

Telemarketing, direct mail, print advertising, yellow pages, flyers, word of mouth, door to door canvasing, volunteering your service for your community gets publicity, local mailers, church bulletins, and so much more...

Search and ye shall find....

3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Honestly ask for referrals...we have been in business now for 8 years and have NEVER advertised in any way.

Your work will speak for itself.

4. Mykster

Mykster LawnSite Senior Member

Referrals and fliers are the only advertising I've done thus far. I keep pretty busy.

Hey Rodfather, do you actually ask your customers for the referrals? I get alot of referrals but, just by my cutomers telling others. Never thought of asking them to get me referrals. I think I'll try that.

5. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Mykster

I get a sense that people like it when I ask them for referrals. I tell them I am always looking for ways to expand our company and any help from them (new names) would be greatly appreciated. They like me asking once or twice a year.