How to go about....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ztrguy, Feb 15, 2003.

1. ztrguy

ztrguy LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE FL

This is my first year in the lawn service business.
    I'm going to mow, trim, blow.
    I have a friend that's going to help out, but I won't have to pay him for the help.

Equipment: 52" Exmark Lazer Z HP
    Stihl Trimmer
    Stihl Edger
    Stihl Backpack Blower

Question: What's the best strategy for my first year?

Option 1: Try to get a lot of smaller yards (under 1 acre) and
    charge $30-$40?

Option 2: Go for the bigger yards (1 acre +) and charge
    $45/acre, $80/2acres, etc...?

Option 3: Try to get whatever I can get by lowering the price

Option 4: Tough it out....keep the price higher and hope you get
    enough yards to mow at the higher price?

Question 2: When someone wants their yard mowed monthly, or
    every other week, what do you do?

Option 1: Tell them you only mow weekly?

Option 2: Mow every other week, monthly, whenever they want
    it mowed?

THANKS IN ADVANCE GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ADD ME to msn messenger:
  2. Heller Landscaping

Heller Landscaping LawnSite Member

?1 Option 2
    ?2 Option 1
    Why are you not paying your helper?:blob2:
  3. pjslawncare/landscap

pjslawncare/landscap LawnSite Bronze Member

Option 4
    If they want it mowed infrequently, advise them it will cost them more the taller it is (If your willing to mow it at all)
    #1 its harder on your equipment
    #2 you will probably need to go over it twice to make it look decent
    I dont mow once a month in most cases, but I would probable double the cost. I wouldnt let him save money at your expence!
  4. Lawn Dog2001

Lawn Dog2001 LawnSite Bronze Member

Man I wish I had great friends like that!:D

I would start out trying to get smaller yards at a good price.