How to handle cust complaint...........

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by ltw77, Jun 2, 2007.

1. ltw77

ltw77 LawnSite Member

A little preview of the situation: I have been working for a long time friend for the past 5 years part time in lawn care. We have been cutting this certain cust lawn for most of that time. It has always been a pleasant experience for both parties as far as I know. The house has vinyl siding and there is grass up to the house on one small section, in the back yard, maybe 25-30' long in a side corner. I ALWAYS cut the back yard so if anything goes wrong guess who is to blame........ME. I always admit when I make a mistake and call attention to it from the get go just because its the right thing to do and it establishes some trust and credability. So my buddy tells me earlier in the week that this cust has found a small spot on the vinyl that has been chipped out and says he noticed it this season since we got some bigger equipment(im using a quick36). As if to say I DID IT with the bigger mower. As soon as he told me I asked him if it was red showing through the vinyl?? He said yeah, I knew the spot he was talking about and I see it everytime I cut the yard and HAVE SEEN IT for at least a year if not more. I thought it was paint, not the brick foundation. Of coarse I tell my buddy this and he knows I'm telling the truth but he confronts the cust and he still insists we are responsible. I will gladly try to make it right but the vinyl is old and it may become a bigger mess trying to fix a small spot on the bottom section of vinyl. My buddy told the cust that IF I did it I didn't realize it and we are not going to argue about it. Whatever he wants to do then we will work with him to make it right. I think we will get through this but I know they think I did it and no matter what my response is they will always be hanging over my shoulder from here on out. I don't think there is anything else I could do but what do you guys feel i