How to Layout your estimate

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by Unitedlawnscapes, Oct 3, 2013.

1. Unitedlawnscapes

Unitedlawnscapes LawnSite Member
    from USA

I seen and talked to people in the landscape business and they always have different methods of purposing the estimates. For an example one may have all materials listed like this:

Mulch $xxx
    Landscape fabric $xxx
    Labor $xxx
    TOTAL $xxx

Or I have seen a few that just list a scope of work like this:

Scope of Work: Landscape Fabric to be pinned and placed in discussed landscape areas and a application of mulch.
    TOTAL $xxx

I am new to the business and want to be professionally presentable. Any input helps and open to suggestions. Thanks in advance

2. DVS Hardscaper

DVS Hardscaper LawnSite Fanatic

I do one lump price

3. KrayzKajun

KrayzKajun LawnSite Fanatic

Same here.

No reason to break down labor and materials.
    None of the customers business what I pay for materials, my markup or labor.
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. Unitedlawnscapes

Unitedlawnscapes LawnSite Member
    from USA

I am about to submit a estimate for a french drain for 80ft. Very easy access.

material cost + rental fee+ $637.00
    Labor+time $650.00
    Markup on materials $200
    Total= 1,487

Am I selling myself short?

5. SoCalLandscapeMgmt

SoCalLandscapeMgmt LawnSite Bronze Member

Don't list is as "markup on materials" if you feel the need to break that out. List it as "Overhead Expenses"

6. DVS Hardscaper

couldn't tell ya. we have no clue what you're doing. 80ft tells us nothing.

how wide?

How Deep?

What are you doing with the spoils?

What are you digging this with?

Many of us enjoy steering people in the right direction, but help us out, get into detail with what you're doing

7. Drakeslayer

Drakeslayer LawnSite Member

^what he said.

8. Snyder's Lawn Inc

Snyder's Lawn Inc LawnSite Platinum Member

I always break it down. So the customer knows what they are getting