How to make new pine needles look "groomed"?

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by vencops, Feb 28, 2011.

1. vencops

vencops LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NC

I installed some pine needles at a property, yesterday. Wait....

**Disclaimer...I am NOT a professional!

OK...I got 'em in there nice and thick (good coverage). But, it still looked "not as good" as what I've seen photos of, here (been lurking). This is "a" part of my business (lawn care....minor landscaping). I'd just like to do whatever I do - RIGHT. Is there a trick?

Thanks.

2. THEGOLDPRO

THEGOLDPRO LawnSite Fanatic

Best way is to not use them, they look horrible no matter what you do.

3. vencops

from NC

Trust me....

If you were in my shoes, you'd use them, too.

4. johnsonslawnmanagement

johnsonslawnmanagement LawnSite Senior Member

On the rare occasion we lay pinestraw, I run over it with a soft plastic rake, upside down. Also, it helps to wet them down either with a hose or irrigation before you run over them.
    Posted via Mobile Device

5. vencops

from NC

We got a heckuva rain storm here, today. I'm gonna ride by and look, tomorrow....just to see what they look like. They were really "full" looking when I left.

Putting water on them (unless I bring the water....or it's raining!), isn't an option. I wish it was.

6. johnsonslawnmanagement

johnsonslawnmanagement LawnSite Senior Member

Try the rake method. It takes some practice but it helps lay them down
    Posted via Mobile Device

7. twobroslawns

twobroslawns LawnSite Senior Member

It's kind of hard to explain...