How to profit from Lowballers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jason Pallas, Mar 28, 2003.

1. Jason Pallas

Jason Pallas LawnSite Bronze Member

These damm lowballers are really screwing the market up around here. I've seen written price quotes that were as low as what I was charging 25 years ago when I graduated High School and was working out of the back of a Buick!!!!
    I figure I'll just close up shop and go into the mechanic/repair business for a while - fixing all their crappy equipment when it goes down. I'll be more than happy to stick it to 'em for a high repair bill. Nothing would make me happier (except to see them disapear).
    Hey - if I can't compete with 'em I might as well profit from them someway.

2. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member

Yeah, good luck collecting from these loosers.

3. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

If you do that, you can bet there will be a "lowball" repair shop that opens up down the block from you.:mad:

4. Gravely_Man

Gravely_Man LawnSite Silver Member

MOW ED, nailed it on the head. People are doing this in every line of work. It is not only affecting the lawn care industry.

Gravely_Man

5. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member

Yup, and I think we will see alot more of it this year. :cool:

6. Jason Pallas

Jason Pallas LawnSite Bronze Member

Yeah - I know, my original post was tongue in cheek. I wasn't really serious. These scrubs couldn't afford to have me fix they're stuff anyway (plus I'd have a real hard time convincing myself NOT to put a little sand in their crankcases - just kidding again!)

7. LawnMowerMan2003

LawnMowerMan2003 LawnSite Senior Member

I've seriously thought about learning small engine repair, when I watched a mechanic clean out a carb in about 5 minutes. I sure can't make $40 in 5 minutes!

8. michigangrass

michigangrass LawnSite Member