how to start

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by CBlandscaping, Mar 21, 2007.

1. CBlandscaping

CBlandscaping LawnSite Member
    from CT

Im not sure if this is in the right place or not but i was wondering how i should start a small excavation company, like doing bobcat and mini excavator work, and what i should consider buying. Im 18 yrs old and i have been mowing lawns for about 5 years now and plowing this past winter, and iv had a job working construction for the past 2 years. Im currently going to collage for a degree in construction managment and would one day like to be a general contractor. Im just looking for advice on how i should get started, and how other people did.

2. gammon landscaping

gammon landscaping LawnSite Senior Member

read my thread i think now is probablly a bad time to start, things are slowing down and equipment is a big ticket item.....think long and hard about it

3. murray83

murray83 LawnSite Senior Member

Most insurance outfits won't insure you with 1 million in liability at your age,I'm 23 with a older backhoe and older plow truck and pay $2000 a year just in insurance.

I agree sit down and do the math as this is nothing like mowing lawns.I say get 5 more years experience as an operator before even getting a business number and insurance.

4. thebobcatkid86

thebobcatkid86 LawnSite Member