1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

how to transplant a mature rhododendron

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by clydesdale, Aug 22, 2005.

1. clydesdale

clydesdale LawnSite Senior Member

These plants are 15 years old. I have two that i would like to transplant. I have never done this before. It is at my own house. Soooo, any words of wisdom? Can I hand dig these out? How deep do i need to go? What should i look for? Any special way to prep the soil that the plants are going in to. Thanks
  2. Coffeecraver

Coffeecraver LawnSite Senior Member
    from VA.

Transplanting Hardy & Florist Rhododendron and Azaleas

Most rhododendron and azalea plants sold at nurseries and garden centers are "hardy", grown to be planted outdoors in the climate of the nursery or garden center. These plants are usually quite easy to transplant but some precautions are important to insure success.

Because the roots grow near the surface, a bed prepared especially for rhododendron and azaleas need not be more than 12 inches deep; deep planting or too much mulch in the growing season keeps the roots from getting the air they need. In fact, it is a good idea to set rhododendron about 1 inch higher than they grew at the nursery. Balled-and-burlaped plants may be transplanted in blossom but it is better to transplant them early in spring in areas where their hardiness is questionable, and in spring or fall if mild winter weather does not damage the shallow-rooted plants. Fall transplanting makes a plant more susceptible to frost heave in climates where freezing and thawing cycles are common. All except leathery leaved rhododendron transplant best in the spring.