How would you bid this job?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Blade-o-grass, Jan 11, 2006.

1. Blade-o-grass

Blade-o-grass LawnSite Member

Ok, I am really new to the bidding thing and I would like some ideas on a price of how you would bid this job,

The home owner is a friend of my brothers, and I don't want to over bid but I also don't want to work for free, if you know what I mean.

There is a total of 6669 sq.ft (front and back) which I already gave him a price of $25 just to mow....but my dilemma is the inital clean up. There are alot of leaves which will have to be cleaned out of the flower beds and the hedges will have to be trimmed. I estimated about 3 hrs. of work with me and my wife. I just kinda need some ball-park figures as to how you would bid the job based on the info that I have given.

Any advise would be muchly appreciated
  2. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping LawnSite Gold Member

How much you usually charge per man hour?
  3. ajlandscaping

ajlandscaping LawnSite Member

figure out all of your cost for everything such as fuel costs as in what used on the job and used to get there a percantage of all the costs of equipment used due to the fact of wear and tear on the job(if they go down and you don't have them being paid for in some way it take alot more work to get them replaced) also you need to factor in a percantage of your cost of living and then you can add alittle for profit.

i know some here i have read in the past have mentioned rougly that $60 man/hour is the ideal rate but that can vary on your costs
  4. Blade-o-grass

Well this is my first bid...I just started in December and have been handing out flyers to get my name out, for $20 a lawn...which is cheep in this area but It is getting results....I have already 6 lawn but that is just mowing and nothing I suppose I would charge $20 per hour....