1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

How would you go about trimming these?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by frogman18, May 10, 2008.

1. frogman18

frogman18 LawnSite Member

Admittedly im by no means an expert when it comes to trimming, so how would i go about trimming these spruce trees? As you can see all 3 are different sizes and there is a window behind the middle one that needs to be at least partly exposed. Any ideas?

2. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member

Your best bet is to selectively remove a couple of branches all the way back to the trunk to create a sight line from the window so it is not completely obscured. Other option is to dig up the tree and relocate it somewhere else.

Whatever you do don't take hedgers to it. Selectively make pruning cuts at other branches or the main trunk. Do not leave any stub cuts. Good luck.
  3. Smallaxe

Smallaxe LawnSite Fanatic

You could take off the top third, which would expose the top half of the window.

How to make them look good and that they belong there is going to be a matter of taste. Are all the branches hitting the house on the corner tree?
  4. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC

Did you plant these so close to the house? All trees need to be 20' away from the house. You do know that these will get 20'+ high: send out horizontal roots, crack your foundation, kill the surrounding grass; cause the basement to be wet, cause a mold problem, and possibly cause a Radon leak that will kill you in your sleep
    I'd prune theme at ground level with a chainsaw.
    Harsh, I know but just think of the trouble in the future when you've have grown an attachment to them. Sometimes it would hurt less when they are small. .