How would you spend your $330

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Nichols Quality Yard Care, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Nichols Quality Yard Care

Nichols Quality Yard Care LawnSite Member

Ok, heres whats up. Im just starting out and looking to aquire about 10-15 basic mowing accounts (mowing, weedeating, edging, hedge trimming). I have a pretty good husquvarna weedeater, a decent blower, hedge clippers, and backup weedeater. However i have just an old 21" craftsman pushmower with no bagger and no self propel. So im looking to spend about $330 at sears (i have a card) on a mower. What should I get? they have Craftsman, Husquvarna, and Snapper. Hopefully if everything goes well this will become my backup mower for next year and I will get a really nice bigger walk behind

2. Guzman Properties

Guzman Properties LawnSite Senior Member

Gamble the $330 in lottery tickets, on line poker or do a Bingo night at the church.

3. jdmcat

jdmcat LawnSite Senior Member
    from Idaho

Whatever you get just plan on saving up and replacing it asap. Those homeowner mowers only get you so far.

4. Nichols Quality Yard Care

Nichols Quality Yard Care LawnSite Member

I do plan on replacing it with something way better in the spring if everything goes as planned. Right now im just getting about 10-15 basic mowing accounts. I have a full time job as a pressman making pretty good money but who couldn't use a lil more. Right now Im just doing this solo so i can earn money so i can buy better gear so i can earn more money. im just needing a mower to get me started. im thinking either the Husqvarna or Snapper. hopefully it will survive to become a backup later.

5. LushGreenLawn

LushGreenLawn LawnSite Silver Member

Are you going to be able to use your sears card to but a Business License and Insurance? What about gas for the mower and your truck?

I never want to discourage anyone from getting into the business, but save up at least a little and do it right!