Hows the Fall Cleanups Going

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by All_Toro_4ME, Nov 15, 2007.

1. All_Toro_4ME

All_Toro_4ME LawnSite Bronze Member

Going not so good here. I think its my area. Maybe some other guys from Oklahoma, Texas, or Missouri can chime in. Of course this is my first year at, but I have seen more then I'd like to experiece thus far. As said many times before, these people only want to pay pennies on the dollar for large quantities of leaves being removed. And it seems $40/hr is too high? WTH. People around here are comfortable with $10-$15 max, rather it takes you 30 minutes or half the day. Im beginning to think its a waste of time, not to mention dusty, dirty, hard to breathe, and itchy. I know some of you guys make some killer profits from fall leaf cleanups, but doesnt seem to be the case here. At least I haven't seen it yet. Maybe I should stick with the grass.:laugh:
  2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

I'm getting 30 to 35 an hour. Take it or leave it. It doesn't matter to me.
  3. coonman

coonman LawnSite Senior Member

Welcome to the wonderful world of fall cleanups. I am not a fan of them either. This year, the only cleanups I am doing is showing up and mowing weekly on my regular accounts that have leaves. I will just mulch weekly until they are gone. My customers are fine with this, so far so good. Just charging my regular mowing rate. Usually requires going over the lawn twice, but with no edging or trimming its works out ok.
  4. All_Toro_4ME

Thanks Coonman.
  5. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Uhm I haven't had much of a chance to get the blower warmed up yet, my back hasn't felt the pleasure of Santa Claus style tarp loads either, at least not in earnest.