Hunter PGV and Accu-Set

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by jryan51, Jun 26, 2007.

1. jryan51

jryan51 LawnSite Member

Hi all,

First, thanks for all the great insight from the posters.

I have reviewed countless posts that have enabled me to make design decisions much easier and hopefully more intelligently as I am new to irrigation.

I was planning on using Hunter PGV 101 MB valves with flow control (1 inch) and the Hunter Accu-Set pressure regulators in order to optimize control per zone. They are shown as compatible for the 1 1/2" and larger.

Can I use these valves with the Accu-Set if I take apart the valve. Screw in the Accu-Set and then reassemble? Currently the Accu-Set can not be threaded onto the valve body as the flow control is in the way.

Thanks,

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

You might need to switch to the ICV series, to get the Accu-Set to fit a one-inch valve. You could phone Hunter and ask (1-800-733-2823) ~ Unless you have pressures capable of damaging pipe and heads, you may find the flow control is enough.

3. Mike Leary

Mike Leary LawnSite Fanatic

You know me, I like to spend the client's money & I've tried the "valve PRV"
    & ripped them out after they failed over the years. It goes back to proper
    zoning..knowing what the PSI/GPM..friction loss..matched heads..if you're
    going to use a low-drain-check (SAM, etc.) friction loss becomes big fun.
    Throttle controls are "fine tuning"..nothing else.:)

4. Wet_Boots

I've used them where there were some some mismatches of flows, and the static pressure was much higher than the mainline's rating. But always as a last resort.

5. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

I prefer zones that expect the same pressure and one of these right after the backflow:

[​IMG]

6. Wet_Boots