Hurricane Katrina Cleanup

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by bushhawg73, Sep 10, 2005.

1. bushhawg73

bushhawg73 LawnSite Member
    from Florida

I am considering going to Alabama / Louisiana in the next few weeks. I would like to know if anyone has any suggestions in how I can legally find work doing debris / tree removal. We had a Hurricane (ok it was several hurricanes) last year and a LCO that I know made a lot of money just doing debris removal. This is my first year in Business and I really could use the income. I would ask the LCO that let me know about this last year but he has moved to Alabama. Maybe I'll see him there. I am aware if the FEMA and the US Army Corps of Engineers websites.
    Thanks

2. nelbuts

nelbuts LawnSite Bronze Member
    from SW, FL

Well do like all the other jerks from all over the country did. Just knock on peoples doors. If I were you I would hook up with a local and work a deal with them under their license. If not then you will need a license. But I will say I hated guys from Ohio, KY, PA coming down here and taking my money and all the locals here. They came in like ants on a cookie and would cherry pick the jobs. Plus they had no local license.

Just in case your wondering. If you don't get there in the next week or so then you will be too late. Oh and you better take more than just a pick up and a few saws. Chances are you will be sleeping in your truck so bring a gun too or you will lose everything. We did not have that problem here in Punta Gorda but when I went and offered my services FREE after Andrew I carried a pistol all the time and slept in a ten for 5 days. Had one bath during that time too!

Is it worth it to be a storm chaser? Well the good thing is that for the most part you do not have to haul anything to a dump as the whole darn place will be a dump.

3. South Florida Lawns

South Florida Lawns LawnSite Platinum Member
    from usa