Husqvarna Rancher 455. Thumbs up or down???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by edlope, Mar 30, 2005.

1. edlope

edlope LawnSite Member

I am a part time landscaper. For years I used a little Craftsman chainsaw and recently due to the serious rains in southern California I lost a giant pine tree and my little Craftsman can't handle it. I am trying to decide on the Husqvarna 455 rancher with a 24" blade. I don't know if it is a consumer model but it is priced just right. Delivered to my door at a total of $375.00 complete. Is this a solid machine for a part timer like myself. This is the first time in over ten years that I have had the need for more than my little Craftsman (16") Do you think the price and quality of the machine sounds right. It is about as much as I am willing to spend.

2. CaptainDing

CaptainDing LawnSite Member

The husky's are great. I have a 359 and it's a beast!...very powerful.

3. all ferris

all ferris LawnSite Bronze Member

I wouldn't put more than a 20" bar on a 455. I have a 570 Husky and it runs great. I had the old 55 rancher and it wasn't very powerful. I'm not sure if they uped the power on the 455 or not.

4. LB Landscaping

LB Landscaping LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

A buddy of mine has a tree company and he loves his Rancher. Its a good saw for the size, I think you'd be very happy with it. When my current saw dies I'll be buying one.

5. Sir Mow-A-Lot

Sir Mow-A-Lot LawnSite Member

I've got the 55 rancher with a 20" bar. one of my favorite pieces of equipment. Plenty of power, starts first pull. Put an aggressive chain on- and it'll cut like a knife through butter.

6. lawnandplow42

lawnandplow42 LawnSite Senior Member

Husky's are powerful saws. I have a stihl, just because we like to keep our mix the same for our stihl products, but i've used a husky plenty of times and it was very good.

7. locutus

locutus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NC