Hustler, Exmark or Dixie???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tjcezar, Jan 16, 2008.

1. tjcezar

tjcezar LawnSite Member
    from PA

I am looking to add some new equipment this year and was looking for some input. I currently have Huslter Super Z 66" w/ 30 hp but am not to satisfied with the cut ( if I can get this fixed I would love the machine ). So my options are to buy another Hustler (if we can get the cut figured out) or buy 2 of another brand, either the Dixie Xcaliber 66" or eXmark 66" . I will stay with Hustler if someone can tell me how to get a nice manicured cut from it. I have the newer model that does not get the baffle kits but was told there is another kit for this deck that I could BUY (shouldn't have to). I don't want buy this kit and then it still don't work. As for the Dixies, I have no experience with them and was a little scared to buy one last year since they were so different from what I am used to (obviously I went with Hustler). I did have an eXmark Lazer 72" a few years back and liked that but for new stuff I heard there were some problems with the triton decks. Basically I need speed (we do large areas wide open at 15mph), reliability (machines are in use every day) and quality of cut ( not so much on our wide open props but on our smaller stuff where we go a little slower and needv nice lines). Please help.
  2. Mike Blevins

Mike Blevins LawnSite Bronze Member