hustler fastrack

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by howlinwolf, Sep 6, 2005.

1. howlinwolf

howlinwolf LawnSite Member

been wanting to start in commercial mowing for awhile. I have only done what I call side jobs for alittle bit of spending money. An account just kinda fell into my lap that is $7,000 to $8,000 a yr. net prolly $5,000 to $6,000. it is a school account of about 5 acres not to many thens in the way and fairly level. Anyways since I'm just starting out, I don't want to buy a mower that is outrages in price, but I did come accross a Hustler fastrack 20 hp kohler courage 52 in deck for $4,499 . Will this mower last me say 1000 hrs or not with any major repairs if taken care of, in otherwords can i mow about 9 acres 36 times a year for 5 plus years, then have money to upgrade and more accounts. The frame and deck are solid, the hydros are IZT and seems pretty beefy and responsive. My main concern is the 20 hp kohler courage. Is it solid? thanks

2. howlinwolf

howlinwolf LawnSite Member

the account I got for the School lawn fell onto me because the company that had it can not do it any longer do to health issuses. It was a mom and pop company. The school wants it mowed this week. thanks

3. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

NOPE............while a good unit it is still a homeowner grade and that motor is FAR from being a commercial quality engine.....

4. nmurph

nmurph LawnSite Senior Member
    from ga

i'm with MM on this one. the ezt motors found on the mini fasttrak are rated for 800 hrs. the fasttrak has izt motors. so let's say they are rated at 1000 hrs and then will need replacing at a cost of $1000 ea. add that cost to what you will spend a FT and you can get into a mini z, and it is commercial. better yet, look at the equipment forum here and you may find what you need.

5. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member