1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Hustler mowers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Dean Williams, Sep 14, 2000.

1. Dean Williams

Dean Williams LawnSite Member
    from Pa,MD

Does anyone use Hustler shortcuts,and the backpak.How do they cut,and handle.How do u get the clippings from mower to truck.
  2. Firebrand

Firebrand Banned

I'm not an expert on the Hustler Short-Cut but I have been doing a lot of research on it. Actually I am buying one next week. I am getting the 48" uppercut deck, with the back pac, and the 25 horse kohler. I demoed it last week and was REALLY impressed. After being pulled around by my Scag 36" WB for so long, it was a real treat to ride. As far as the QOC, I thought it was great. I was mowing after a short morning rain and the grass was a little wet. I tried to mulch/discharge out the rear, but I got some clumps but I think that was because of the moisture. As far as how to get the clippings from the bag to the truck, the only efficient method I know of is to get several cheap 6X8 tarps and lay them out, then you back up to them and dump. Then you gather the corners and transfer to truck. Needless to say, I try to mulch as much as possible. As far as the controls, they are AWESOME! Very easy to learn, very easy to turn with the counter rotating drive wheels. I'm going to demo it again tomorrow if I learn anything more I will let you know.
  3. MJB

MJB LawnSite Silver Member
    from Wa

Firebrand have you read the post about the 25 horse Kohler?
    They are having terrible problems, I would see if they have a different engine option. They look like a decent mower, I liked the one I demo but it didn't have the bagger.
    Good luck
  4. Getmow

Getmow LawnSite Senior Member
    from VA