Hydro Fluid

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by KerryB, Jan 8, 2004.

1. KerryB

KerryB LawnSite Senior Member

I took my Z in for service this week while I was in school.
    When I returned they told me they drained all my hydro fluid and replaced it because it smelled burnt.
    Now I dont have a problem with the service. What I do have a problem with is the fact that it was burnt after only 400 hrs.
    I have been telling the dealer for over 6 months that it didnt respond like it should when turning. I always got the same answer. Which didnt fix the problem and now he finds that the fluid is burnt.
    What would cause this after only a short period of time? Do I have hydro problems in my pumps?
    And I still havnt had any luck with the problem I told you about earlier. The one about it cutting off at the top of a hill.
    The only other dealer close by is this guys cousin. So I am leary about carrying it to him.
    I love my Exmark. All I want is for it to perform and last. I just have a couple of small problems preventing it from running properly.

2. eXmark

eXmark Manufacturer / Sponsor

Kerry,

I can only assume that the Kohler rep that was going to be at the dealership could not find anything wrong with the engine either.

At this point I'm out of suggestions. Send me a pm with your dealer name as well as the technician you've been working with and I'll have Kohler give them a call. Also it couldn't hurt to get your name and phone number as well. That way if the dealer can't duplicate the problem on hills you can at least describe it to the Kohler tech's.

It's unlikely that you've got a problem with the hydros. I am concerned however because as I recall you were changing the fluid back in October but I may be mistaken............a lot of e-mails since then.............I get confused...............easily and often.