1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Hydro vs. Gear Drive

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by dmk395, Jan 21, 2001.

1. dmk395

dmk395 LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ma

I have been using gear or belt drive walk behind mowers for a few years now, and find them to be nice machines. Whats the difference between what i use and a Hydro machine, are they just that much faster, turn better, I know for one thing that they are much more expensive? How bout maintaining a hydro?
  2. sunrise

sunrise Banned

day and night hydro has no slip were belt get wet.
    Reverse in at your finger tips,no more putting in reverse and pulling mower back.
    yes more money but worth it unless you are mowing flat open grass for mile then maybe a belt is ok
  3. Greenkeepers

Greenkeepers LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE Ohio

It all depends on your application. If you are mowing flat land then gears are fine but if you have some hills then the hydro is the way to go. Also with the hydro, you can cut when it's raining or when it's wet out. In that instance the gear would be slipping and wouldn't want to get out of it's own way. As for repairs the only difference is the hydro pumps, havn't had one go but I would bet they're more expensive than belts.
  4. UrbanEarth

UrbanEarth LawnSite Member

One of the big advantages to a hydro is the variable speed. Have you been cutting grass that is a bit too long for third gear but second is way too slow? A hydro has much more adjustment in a situation like that.
    Another advantage (on the ones I have seen) is that you do not have to stop, take it out of gear, put it into reverse gear and hold it there while steering with one hand, to go backwards.
    My next walkbehind will be a hydro.

5. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic