Hydroseeders and overnight freezes

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Stonehenge, Sep 15, 2001.

1. Stonehenge

Stonehenge LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Midwest

I have a question for those who have hydroseeded for more than 1 year (because I'm in my 1st year with my unit).

It's starting to get cool here, and I know my unit needs to be emptied so no seals break from freezing.

My question is this: There's always about 20-30 gallons left in the bottom of the tank. How/where do you get rid of that so it can't sit in the tank/piping and freeze? Do you have a big hole at your location where you dump it? Do you drain it at the customer's house, giving them a blue street or driveway?

2. Do you have any builders that you work for, who you could maybe spray the leftovers for them at the end of the day for a lower rate? Possibly another / smaller landscape company? They get it ready and you bring them the leftovers each day for a lower price? I know that a lot of blacktop guys, if they have anything left at the end of the day they will come by and drop it somewhere for you. Spreading is another thing.

3. Guido

Guido LawnSite Silver Member

Not sure its any good once you "dump" the mix out of the drain. Its probobly pretty segregated once the water flows through all the mix.

When we finished and we knew we wouldn't be using it any time soon, we would hit our own spots on our properties, even just overseeding. It makes more sense then dumping it somewhere.

If you don't want to do that and you have "free" water you can run the pump while flushing it out with water to thin out the mix, that takes most of the dye out.

There are always beat up road shoulder's around or "cow path's" that could use a little seed. Do your community service! :)

4. paul

paul Lawnsite Addict