I almost have everything to start...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by KB Klippers, May 18, 2006.

1. KB Klippers

KB Klippers LawnSite Member

I am new to the business. I basically wanted a zeroturn to mow my property faster. I came across a 2006 Kubota ZG23 with 5.5 hours for 6 grand and couldn't pass it up. I thought "I will mow on the side to pay for the equipment and stop"

Well, I have the Kubota, bought a 6x10 single axle. I have a business license and licensed the trailer. I am in the process of getting my insurance. I bought a small Husky backpack (490 cfm) blower, and bought a new 21" 3-way troybuilt with a 5.5 hp Honda. I have a small echo trimmer to get started with. I will get a straight shaft later.

I began posting flyers at post offices and gas stations today. I have an ad in the paper as well. I can't wait till my first call! It is a gamble. There are a lot of people in this business around Owensboro, KY. My dad is going to pass out some black and white's in his neighborhood. I hope I get enough to stay busy for at least 1 eight hour day. I work 4 on/4 off.

If anyone can think of anything I left out, let me know. I am excited, but at the same time I am kind of scared. It is a pretty big investment. I am not afraid of hard work, and am a pretty good people person. I can also mow a darn beautiful lawn!

KB

2. Freddy_Kruger

Freddy_Kruger LawnSite Bronze Member

I officially don't like Echo anymore. I bought the back pack blower and when it started the pull cord snaped out of my hand and broke the choke switch. (cheap plastic crap)

I bought the echo trimmer SRM 210 and the plastic safety button thing broke. Not sure how even, I layed it on the grass and went I went to pick it up it was on the grass. I have only a silver left that I need to press down on so I can engage the trimmer. Cheap plastic crap.