I am curious about welding aluminum

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.lawnsite.com/buttons/jump.php?i' started by Cheryl, Nov 8, 2003.

1. Cheryl

Cheryl LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Guys,

I don't want to hear about how hard it is, and I don't want to hear about a great welding book I should buy. I want to know if it is possible for me to do it, and how much I would need to get started. I have some experience welding with a MIG welder.

From the search that I did here, I found that a TIG welder is better for aluminum, but a MIG welder can be used as well. Not wanting to spend the big bucks on a TIG welder, can someone tell me what size MIG I can use to weld what size aluminum plate?

2. vipermanz

vipermanz LawnSite Bronze Member

Aluminum is a difficult material to weld with, but with a lot of practice you can have it mastered with a 115v machine, you will have to use a machine with a shielding gas system and possibly have to change the drive rollers and wire liner heading towards the gun, As far a Tig goes, Yes it is somewhat easier but only because you can drop the amperage super low, another factor is also you may not need a filler metal with Tig.

Any questions Just Ask!!!!:)

3. Cheryl

Cheryl LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Why do the driver rollers need to be changed, and to what? What do I ask for at the store? Also, the same for the wire liner. Why am I changing it and to what? Again, what do I ask for at the store?

Should I choose a machine that will allow these changes, or can I make these changes to any machine. What amperage machine should I buy?

4. J.Gordon

J.Gordon LawnSite Senior Member