I beleive I am out growing my plugr

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by mac43rn, Sep 24, 2006.

1. mac43rn

mac43rn LawnSite Member

Tell me what you think.

I am a solo operator and really, really love my job. Equipment consist of 36" exmark tthp, exmark Lazer Z 60" (needs a new hydro), plugr pb800. Last year I started offering aeration and it was more then steady. This year is absolutely out of control. Not enough time in the day and more calls coming in. I started flyers and yard signs advertising aeration, over seeding and lawn renovation. The problem I am running into is the pb 800 seems like it is holding me back. It is the best wb aerator I have ever used and it is great for those small lawns (5000-8000 sq feet). However, I have been giving bids out for lots over an acre and getting them. My prices for aeration range from $15 per thousand for aeration and $35-40K for overseeding so I don't feel I am giving my service away, just doing a good job of advertising, selling and closing the deal.

I have thought about purchasing a compact lawn tractor with a 3pt hitch along with a turfco tow behind aerator. I figure this would run a little more then I would want to spend, however, the tractor would allow even more job opportunities.

I am also looking at the z-plug aerator with the hopper option.

I understand this is a problem, but I would rather have too much work then not enough.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.