i can get any dam work

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mikeshere89, May 1, 2003.

1. mikeshere89

mikeshere89 LawnSite Member
    from iowa

its my first year in business, i have one account, my dads. I advertised in the paper and sent out flyers to the people in my parents area, even telling them to go and look at my fathers lawn as it looks excellent, yet still no phone calls. this is really depressing especially when i see how busy all these other companys are so busy, and they dont do quality work. I deferred all my payments for equipment till winter but at this rate they are just going to repo them back.

any of you get started like this? how do i get my name out

im ready to start stealing jobs, which i would hate to do.

2. Popsicle

Popsicle LawnSite Member

There is obviously work out there if your competitors are busy.

1. Have you gone out to meet any of them? Ask them if they have any accounts they can't service. Networking works.

2. Are you targeting high-end neighborhoods?

3. Have you looked into direct mail?

4. Are there corkboards at local coffeehouses or grocery stores where you could post a flier (with tear-offs)?

5. How long did you advertise in the paper? Name recognition is very important.

These of some thoughts that came to mind. I live in an area that hasn't been affected much with the recession. I too started my company this past October but have been very fortunate.

3. LB Landscaping

LB Landscaping LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

All stealing jobs will do is give you a bad rep. Don't get discouraged as the season goes on the phone will ring. Try door to door advertising. Take a Saturday and go meet some home owners in your target area, tell them who you are, what you offer, and why they should choose you.

4. Darryl G

Darryl G LawnSite Fanatic

You need to be an engineer to get dam work....just kidding.