I Can Mow A Lawnw Twice As Fast Now: Is It Better To Keep Prices The Same?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Katie_A_C, Jan 27, 2007.

1. Katie_A_C

Katie_A_C LawnSite Member

Well, when I started out last season it was taking me one hr. to mow a lawn and I was charging $30, which is about $5-$10 less than most of the flyer's that I see. I was cutting only on my parents street and I never advertised the price, I just figured that since I am a rookie, I will charge less.

By the end of the season I was cutting those same lawns in 40 min. and with my new ZTR, I should be cutting those lawns in 25min. by next season. So basically my hrly. rate almost doubled because I learned how to mow and trim efficiently and next year it will increase even more with the new ZTR. :clapping:

I was considering raising my price by $5 but I have decided to keep my price the same and just figure out more ways to get the lawns cut faster to make more money. This seems easier and my customers will be happier without a price increase and I will likely get even more customers who are paying more currently. I think $30 in 25min is more than fair considering I don't have far to drive to any of the houses.:walking:
  2. procut

procut LawnSite Bronze Member

Remeber, the job didn't get any smaller, you just got faster.
  3. dekalb lawn man

dekalb lawn man LawnSite Member

I would keep your prices the same for your existing clients and try raising a little for the new clients. You will make more money and still have a strong client base.
  4. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

Don't forget wear & tear on equipment from running it harder & faster. I would keep their prices the same & raise new ones.
  5. stevesmowing

stevesmowing LawnSite Senior Member