I have a customer who seems to think its to late to plant.

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by General Grounds, Oct 1, 2006.

1. General Grounds

General Grounds LawnSite Senior Member

:hammerhead: I have a customer whom is contracted to do a landscape install, weve been delayed and are scheduled and loaded for tom. customer claims that this is not the time to plant, ive been planting this time of year for 12 years with fantastic results, customer now wants an extended warranty because "many" people claim this is not a good season. But july- August is go figure, i guess customer knows best. tony
  2. DBL

DBL LawnSite Silver Member

dont let him try to get one over on you youre the expert here and no more of a warrenty than you usually give if you even give one we have planting scheduled for the next 2 weeks and still have an acre of sod to lay sometime soon
  3. General Grounds

General Grounds LawnSite Senior Member

:rolleyes: Oh yeah i almost forgot i thought i was the one with the degree in horticulture and landscape desisgn & maintenance.
  4. richallseasons

richallseasons LawnSite Senior Member

I would just ad a stipulation into the contract that states if for any reason the plantings fail to thrive do to the time of year planted that they will be covered but the warranty timeline stands as stated. And you know that it is a good time of year to plant so you should have no unexpected results.
  5. AGLA

AGLA LawnSite Bronze Member

Most guys in my area warranty their plants through the first winter. If that is the case with you, there is no practical reason to extend the warranty due to it being late in the year.

If your warranty is less than 6 months, I could see the guy having a point.