I Heard a noise from my trailer.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by howardsells2000, Jul 16, 2006.

1. howardsells2000

howardsells2000 LawnSite Senior Member

I was driving very slowly and happen to hear a noise from my trailer. I almost didn't even bother to check but I'm glad I did. I walked around it and noticed one of my wheels on my single axle trailer had almost completely come off. Three of the five lugs were broken off and the forth lug nut was almost off. If I wouldn't have checked on that noise it could have been a disaster for me.

My trailer is a 2006 Holmes 5X12. I bought it in March of this year brand new. What would cause the studs on the lugs to break off? Could someone have done this to me? I've been driving for 27 years and I have never had a stud break off. The only thing I can think of is that it may have had something to do with a hauling job I did last weekend. I did overload the trailer with dirt that day. I don't think that would have caused it but maybe.

Then of course it's Sunday afternoon. I still had some mowing to do. So I tightened the forth lug nut and went home. The lawns were near my home so I was able to finish them on my way. Then I went to AutoZone and bought three studs, went home and tried to pound the broken ones out of my hub. I couldn't budge them. So I take the hub and three new studs to Tire Discounters and ask them to replace the studs for me. Well about fifteen minutes later the guy comes back with my trailer hub in two pieces. He pressed two of the studs in and on the third one, breaks my hub. I need my trailer Monday morning to work. I put the damaged hub back on the trailer. At least it has four studs and four nuts holding the wheel on. But now while working tomorrow, I have to try and find a replacement hub. Oh well just felt like venting.

2. CLARK LAWN

CLARK LAWN LawnSite Silver Member