I lost half my lawns in one week!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by CRM Lawncare, Jun 3, 2004.

1. CRM Lawncare

CRM Lawncare LawnSite Member

Granted I only had 10 properties to start with, they fell as follows:

1 - bought a new Murray at Walmart

2 - House was forclosed on (they paid me on time - go figure)

3 - Showed up and grandchild was cutting grass

4 - Lowballed badly ($30.00 yard being cut now for $12.50)

5 - Would not pay, so I dropped them

Guess I better get some flyers out and start cold calling again.
    The market around here sucks so we'll see how it goes.

Charlie
    CRM Lawncare

2. chevyman1

chevyman1 LawnSite Senior Member

I only hope you don't do this full time...were you behind or something?

3. CRM Lawncare

CRM Lawncare LawnSite Member

This is my first year, I only mow part-time at the moment and with my work schedule I can only mow 2 evenings a week. I'm trying to either change my schedule or find another job to allow for time to grow my business.

Most of the accounts were cast offs from other companies but I was taking what I could get since I am starting out. I wasn't behind on any of the accounts, it just started with one call on Monday and went downhill for the week.

4. BCSteel

BCSteel LawnSite Senior Member

Well thats a pretty bad string of bad luck.

5. twins_lawn_care

twins_lawn_care LawnSite Senior Member

Keep your head up, and just replace those with some better customers now. Those most likely you would have lost in time anyhow, and are not really the customers you want.
    Just get out there and market yourself!

6. QualityLawnCare4u

QualityLawnCare4u LawnSite Gold Member