I mow lawns, lawn jockey etc.. what do u do?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cochino12, Oct 19, 2005.

1. cochino12

cochino12 LawnSite Senior Member

Just curious what you guys here that either just mow or mainly mow tell people you do?

2. robby

robby LawnSite Member

80% of my work is mowing. I have no problem telling people that I mow for a living. Usually i tell them i'm self employed in the landscaping biz. My wife on the otherhand, finds it "embarrassing" to tell other people what I do for a living. For some crazy reason, she thinks its not as much about how much you make, but that you're a white collar and not a blue collar worker. I'd prefer making 50 an hour, coming home dirty, than making 20 an hour and coming home smelling like roses.

3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

I tell them I own a company that cut's a whole bunch of grass. And in the winter, we plow a whole bunch of snow. Simple.

4. befnme

befnme LawnSite Bronze Member

5 to 6 days a week i wear a company shirt so everyone that passes me knows what i do .i aint got no shame in my game.i make just as much as some of the uppety type .and dont care if they turn their nose up at me.

5. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

robby, tell your wife this. One of lawnsite's members was at one time the Director of Training for Hertz for many, many years. And now, he owns a very nice lawn care op and makes a whole lot more $$$ then when he was in the corporate world.

BTW, that person is your's truly...

6. Thirsty

Thirsty LawnSite Member

I am a fuel hauler for a small trucking company. I only work about 3 days a week on weekends and Mon.. Although I almost get 40 hrs in those three days.

I will spend the winter aquiring equipment to start in the biz next spring.

Now with both kids in school during the day I am finding myself with freetime and I love to mow.