I nailed down my first two accounts, did I do the right thing??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jon99, Mar 2, 2003.

1. Jon99

Jon99 LawnSite Senior Member

I am new to this, but after spending about $600 on print ads and passing out a few hundred flyers a few days ago, I got two calls and I landed the accounts...But did I do the right thing???

Job #1- Residential in new subdivision of $150-200K houses, small yard with very little trimming.. $23 per cut, even with bagging it, I should be in and out within 20-25 minutes... Really wanted this to get foot into new subdivision...

Job #2- Common property for a subdivision, mowing a 2 acre park and a small entry way... I figured 90 minutes, agreed on a price of $50..Went lower than I wanted with hopes of landing accounts with the subdivision, which is 80 homes sitting on two acre lots..

Is going a bit low with hopes of getting other accounts the right thing for a new guy to do????

2. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN

It might be OK just so long as you still cover your costs and then some profit. Job A sounds ok but job B sounds like it should be $90.
    Like I said you might be able to get away with it but be very careful doing this.

3. NC Big Daddy

NC Big Daddy LawnSite Senior Member

And people wonder why LCO's go out of business so fast. You're Low Very Low. $23 per lawn and you're going to bag it two? I'll assume you didn't put them on contract either?

Good Luck

4. Lawn Specialties

Lawn Specialties LawnSite Member

I have to agree the price on the two acres sounds pretty low but it may end up being one of those mistakes you learn from.It takes time and experiance to get the feel for quoting prices.Don't try to price low to get jobs to the point you work for free.I once quoted a clean up job and ended up making 3 bucks an hour and got poison ivy to boot.

5. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member