1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

I need a Little advice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mowing and More, Mar 21, 2003.

1. Mowing and More

Mowing and More LawnSite Member

Hey everyone, I am new to this site but i have been cutting grass for a few years. I am Interested In purchasing a new zero radius mower. I was looking at toro and scag.. if any one has an opinion on which is a better value or if any one has owned a walk behind and a zero turn rider do you think its worth the extra money to have the rider ?
  2. LB Landscaping

LB Landscaping LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Both Toro and Scag are good machines. I would go with the dealer that will offer you the best service. You might save a few bucks by buying equipment from a less qualified dealer but you will end up paying for it in down time if you need the stuff worked on.
    Is a rider worth it??? It all depends on how large your average lawn is. Some yards are just too small to get a rider (even a ZTR) in and out of and around in.
  3. BobR

BobR LawnSite Senior Member

Have both, the walk behind is now my 'back-up' machine but the Z hasn't let me down yet.. Both machines were purchased new.

When I first started the business a used Toro 44" 20 hp Hydro was my 'big machine' the next year I traded it for a 20 hp t-bar hydro 52" deck with a 'trac vac' system, the next year growth brought on some larger estates and I purchased my Z a Toro 153, it is now my primary machine and is used on all of my accounts.

This is just MY experience, the Z works for me and MY customers.

YOU will have to be the judge of which machine will be right for you.
  4. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member