1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

i need a lot of help...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by christian8574139309, Jan 16, 2010.

1. christian8574139309

christian8574139309 LawnSite Member

hi iam new in this page i just turn 19 years old ive been working in landscape for the past 4 years a have alot of experiance in the job iam the crew in charge in the company and now i want to start my own company i have a few customers i do do mowing mulch and snowplowing but i dont know absolutely nothing on the legal part, taxes, estimates, registration, how to get more customers, etc. i would like if somebode with a lot of experience can help me i will appreciate a lot. thank you. :confused::confused:
  2. Nolimit124

Nolimit124 LawnSite Member

3. SangerLawn

SangerLawn LawnSite Senior Member
    from indiana

Figure in how much everything cost for you to run a business for a day. Add the amount of money you want to profit per day. Divide that number by the amount of hours you will spend actually at a customer’s property.

Here is an example….this is just an example so do not use these numbers.

Fuel, trimmer string, ware and tear on equipment plus all the things to be legal cost $150 per day

You want to profit $150.00 per day

You know on a 10 hour day you will only be working 6 hours. The rest of time is working on equipment, paper work, or traveling from job to job.

For a 10 hour day, with 6 hours of work that you can charge for, you will need $50.00 per hour to operate while you’re on a job working.

Not to be rude but believe it or not you will be doing a lot of writing. I recommend a English class or at least learn to use Microsoft word.