i need help getting jobs

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by WSLService, Mar 12, 2002.

1. WSLService

WSLService LawnSite Member

hey,
    I have a few yards that i picked up in my neighborhood that I have been doing for a couple years now. I have wanted to make more money now that i can drive places and I have given out like two hundred flyers and am getting frustrated because I have had no replies on my lawn service. WHAT DO I HAVE TO DO TO GET SOME JOBS! I have read some post but i don't have money to spend on some of the ideas. Any thing useful you could tell me thanks!

2. LawnLad

LawnLad LawnSite Senior Member

Well, you could wait by the phone or... print up some more fliers and get busy. You'll have to beat the pavement to get work. Fliers are your least expensive way to advertise if you're not better served by doing something else with your time.

As you probably know from reading older posts, fliers have approximately a 1% response rate. On 200 fliers, I would be looking for two phone calls. At a 50% close rate assuming both are qualified leads, you've got one more job!

Sales is purely a numbers game. The more business you want, the bushes you'll have to beat.

Good luck developing your new customer base!

3. mdb landscaping

mdb landscaping LawnSite Silver Member

You should put out more flyers. like stated above, ive put out about 200 flyers at a time, and only get 1 or two calls. maybe try an ad in the local paper too?

4. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Due to the age issue, your going to have a little trouble closing the sales anyway. But, 200 flyers is nothing. You need to be putting out 1000's. Two years ago I was putting out about 500-1000 per day for several weeks.