1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

I Need Help - May have my first sealing job.

Discussion in 'Seal Coating Forum' started by Need_Advice, Jun 24, 2008.

1. Need_Advice

Need_Advice LawnSite Member
    from Ontario

Please don't rip me apart here but i'm a total noob.

My neighbour has me do a bunch of yard work for him on weekends for some extra cash, i'm on summer break from school and need as much money as i can get.

He wants me to seal his driveway this weekend - said he would pay me $1,000 - Got quoted $1,500 - $1,700 (its huge). The driveway is pretty beat up but he says he just wants it to look black.

this sounds like a decent way to make a few hundred bucks (i have to buy the sealer and gas... i dont think i need to worry about the cracks) but also have a lot of questions. I've been googling for the last few days and i'm totally confused as to if i'm actually capable of doing this. He used to be in landscaping and has a pesticide sprayer that he said i could use... his son did it a couple years ago with it apparently but he knows nothing about how its done.

1. Just from browsing this forum ... will this actually work? - looks like people hate them.

2. Is there anywhere that sells/delivers bulk driveway sealer in the Newmarket Ontario area?

3. If not, can i buy a bunch of buckets from canadian tire and put them in the sprayer?

4. If yes, which one do i use - they sell asphalt, pro-gel, coaltar, acrylic - and they go from like $15 - $50 for under 20 litres - almost 5gallons.
    - here is what they have:
    - The $50 pails probably aren't worth it from my point of view.

5. Do i have to add anything to it

6. How long can i do this driveway before it's supposed to rain - i have ready everything from 4 hours to 48 hours.