I need help on pricing a job

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Markee, Jan 5, 2004.

1. Markee

Markee LawnSite Member

I am brand new to the business and can use a little help. Most of my jobs are cutting lawns and maintaining lawns. What I need to know is I got a call from a customer who was not happy with his current LCO. He wants me to stop by and give him a quote on trimming his hedges some pruning cutting the lawn etc...This is for this one time that he needs it all done. Then I'll be quoting him a montly service fee for cutting and maintaining. But for the first time there is more to be done he said, his other LCO didn't maintain. So any help would be great asap. I have an appt with him tomorrow.

2. Signature Services

Signature Services LawnSite Member

Personally, I would ride by the location and just see what the work looks like and if it's too much then give him a price that's high but something you'd do it for. If he bites then you make good money. If not or the work looks easy then give him a more realistic price. Remember, you are in business for yourself and you should do jobs you want to do not just to have them.
  3. twins_lawn_care

twins_lawn_care LawnSite Senior Member

First of all, do you have all the equipment to do this job that he is asking about? If not, I would pass it by. I say this because if you don't do a good job off the start, the chances of you maintaining this customer go way down. If you have all the necessary tools to get the job done WELL, then I would say go through and estimate about how long it is going to take you. If you don't have much experience with pricing, about $60 is a rough estimate for a per hour charge. So if you think you can do the job complete (drive, work, disposal, etc.) in 4 hours, around $240 is a good price. You may want to adjust accordingly depending on your efficiency, and need for work.