I need help with finding the right weed killer ...

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by rag15, Aug 26, 2007.

1. rag15

rag15 LawnSite Member

Hello!
    This is my first post here and I'm glad I found this website! I'm working on a lawn that is invaded by 4 different kinds of weed plants. I am new to all this and don't have much experience... I need help figuring out what kind of weed plants these are and the kind of weed killer(s) needed. Also, I plan on overseeding the lawn (2 weeks after the application) and would like to know if the weed killer(s) will interfere with BlueGrass germination.

My location is in North East (Buffalo, NY) and lawn has Fescue/BlueGrass combination. Approx area: 40' x 25'.

[​IMG]
    Click here for Close-Up

[​IMG]
    Click here for Close-Up

[​IMG]
    Click here for Close-Up

[​IMG]

Thanks a lot!

2. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

I see ground ivy, heal all, and oxalis. Tough weeds plus a few dandelions. Lesco three way would work, but it might take three treatments. I would go with Lesco Eliminate, use it at the maximum rate, add a wetting agent or some detergent. Plan on two treatments about three weeks apart.

Hurry before Buffalo white moves in.

3. jrc lawncare

jrc lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

What he said. Ground ivy is a pain in the azz to get rid of. Fall is a good time to knock it out.Trimec classic will work as well.

4. MStine315

MStine315 LawnSite Senior Member

Same here, 2-3 treatments, 10-14 days apart, of the "three-way" product of your choice. Works great.

5. FdLLawnMan

FdLLawnMan LawnSite Bronze Member