I need Railroad Tie wall help

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by Ric3077, Apr 30, 2006.

1. Ric3077

Ric3077 LawnSite Bronze Member

I do mostly lawn and landscape...not too much with walls...I am ripping out an our rr tie wall and putting it back it. Old one is rotted and the customer hates stone walls. He wants the same thing. Anyway...I am looking for someone in the St. Charles, MO area that I can sub it out to. It's about 65 feet of material. Not too big. Anyhelp would be appreciated thanks!

2. Ric3077

I am going to try doing it myself....anyone have any tips?

3. neversatisfiedj

neversatisfiedj LawnSite Bronze Member

what do u want 2 know ?

4. Ric3077

I have never done one before...ever...so I am glad my first one is only 3 timbers high...what is the best way to start...bury one timber and anchor it with rods and then stack another layer and nail em in or? Any and all help is appreciated thanks!!!!!!

5. mrusk

mrusk LawnSite Gold Member

Its a tiny wall. Just talking them into a block wall outta that small block you buy at depot. It will be quicker than messing with ties.

It seems like most people lean towards a rr tie wall to save money. Honest, on any SRW that does not include grid, i can not see how you can save any money with ties. It seems like you might save some money on material, but labor will be much more for the extra excavation for the deadman.

6. Ric3077